Crispy Masala Palak Poori / Spinach Flatbread (step by step)

Today is my brother’s birthday and I would like to say how thankful I am to have such a wonderful brother.  Even though we’re thousands of miles apart our relationship has never faded. I feel so lucky to have him in our lives. Though my brother is elder than me yet he is my best friend.
My brother, sister, and I spent most of our childhood days in our mom’s kitchen. As unofficial taste testers and kitchen assistants, we learned through immersion. On the occasion of my Brother’s Birthday I decided to make his favorite snack Crispy Masala Palak Poori that I learned from my mom.

“MANY MANY HAPPY RETURNS OF THE DAY”.IMG_0108-1 for name bm

Ingredients:

  • Whole wheat flour – 2 cup
  • Spinach (Palak) – 2 cups chopped
  • Red chilli powder – 1 tsp
  • Turmeric powder – ¼ tsp
  • Carom seeds (Ajwain) 1 tsp
  • Salt as taste
  • Oil – 3tbs + for frying

IMG_0093-1 bmDirections:

  1. Put the wheat flour in a mixing bowl. Add turmeric powder, red chilli powder, salt, carom seeds and mix it well.
  2. Heat 3 tbsp oil in sauce pan. It should be hot. Pour this oil over wheat flour. After 3-4 minutes mix well.
  3. Add chopped spinach and mix well. Knead to tight dough by adding little water (or no water).
  4. Cover and rest the dough for few minutes. Then make marbled sized balls out of this dough.Collage 1 step bm
  5. Roll them to small pooris (I use poori press machine to make poori)
  6. Prickle 5-6 times with fork to avoid puffing.
  7. Heat the oil and deep fry pooris on medium heat. Do not fry them over high heat, pooris will not become crispy. So, deep fry them over medium heat and let it become golden in color.
  8. Strain and transfer fried pooris on kitchen towel to remove excessive oil. Let pooris cool down for 15-20 minutes. Store them in airtight container at room temperature.Collage 2 step bmIMG_0109-1 for recipe done bmIMG_0098-1 bm
About Pure Vegetarian Bites

Site Administrator and Creator
This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfast, Spinach / Palak, Starter and Snacks, Wheat and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Crispy Masala Palak Poori / Spinach Flatbread (step by step)

  1. ASHOK KUMAR RAJ says:

    Nice …… but let it puff ….. I feel it will be better then ….. and to make it lighter ….. you can add kick ….. add a pinch of annardana seeds ….. or …… mango powder instead of ajwain …..you can try it … Chef Ashok .Kumar .Raj.

    • I agree Ashok if it is puffed version you have to eat within a day, but this a snack version. You can store for week and enjoy anytime with tea, pickle etc. Ajwain is good for digestion that’s why I added.
      Appreciate your input. I will definitely try your version next time with annardana seeds or mango powder.

  2. deepak says:

    Thanks for crispy long lasting idea. I think adding cumin powder and seasemi/Til to it will be even be more tasty.

Leave a Reply

