Homemade Pav Bhaji Masala Powder (Step by Step)

Pav Bhaji is a favorite fast food dish in India and originated from Maharashtra. I guess there are very few Indians who wouldn’t have tasted this fast food! The key to a good Pav Bhaji lies in the quality of the masala that goes into the making of the spicy bhaji. IMG_0647-1 bm name

Pav Bhaji masala is a combination of a few favorite Indian spices mixed into one, resulting in an easy to use blend. Pav Bhaji masala can be easily purchased at your local Indian store. All these days I bought Pav Bhaji masala from shops and last week when I was browsing on internet and saw this recipe and instantly tried it. Each one has their own version of pav bhaji masala powder and here is mine :) Even if you can easily get it pre-made, the aroma of freshly ground spices cannot be beat. It is so flavorful and said to myself no more store bought ones hereafter.

IMG_0643-1 bmIngredients:

  • 7 whole red dry chili
  • 4 tbsp coriander seeds
  • 2 tbsp cumin seeds
  • 1/4 tbsp black pepper
  • 1/2 inch cinnamon sticks
  • 3 cloves
  • 4-5 black cardamom
  • 2 tbsp dry mango powder
  • 1 tbsp fennel seeds

IMG_0640-1 bmDirections:

  1. In a pan, dry roast all the ingredients (except for dry mango powder) till it they golden brown on a low medium flame.
  2. Roast for a few minutes (till some nice aroma is released). Then add the dry mango powder and roast for a minute. Switch off the flame.
  3. Once the mixture cools down completely, grind it to a fine powder in a mixer.
  4. Store in an airtight container.

Collage 1 step by stepIMG_0662-1 bm

 

About Pure Vegetarian Bites

Site Administrator and Creator
This entry was posted in Basics, Masala and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Homemade Pav Bhaji Masala Powder (Step by Step)

  1. Snehal says:

    I’ve thought of making my own paav bhaji masala many times. This motivates me. Beautiful pictures!

  2. Wow looks and sounds great and by making it home, you make sure that everything is fresh and no contamination. Good job.

  3. Priya says:

    I always stick with the store bought pav bhaji masala, thanks for sharing this homemade masala powder.

  4. Preeti says:

    Cool beans – this is a great idea! thanks for sharing.

  5. Rashmi says:

    gr8 idea…bful pics too

  6. Asha momin says:

    Hey there ! thnks for sharing this :) I live in pakistan and i can’t find pav bhaji masla anywhere in pak, I so love pav bhaji so im going to make this homemade pav bhaji masla nd will definitely enjoy eating it !

  7. vamsi says:

    Thank you Rashmiji. I’m right away going to try this, but without dry mango powder. Lets us see how it tastes.

  8. Pingback: PAV BHAJI

  9. aani says:

    thankyou guys its very useful

  10. Pingback: Pav Bhaji | My experiments with cooking

  11. anita says:

    Hi. I just prepared powder madala. The aroma was simply superb. My bhaji going to be sensational I think! I’ll post again once bhaji is done and my kids and her friends eat it.

  12. anita says:

    Hi. I just prepared powder masala. The aroma was simply superb. My bhaji going to be sensational I think! I’ll post again once bhaji is done and my kids and her friends eat it.

Leave a Reply

